Asia redesigns 48-team qualifying format for 2026 World Cup

Home » Asia redesigns 48-team qualifying format for 2026 World Cup

Jack87 Sports Representatives of selected countries react after announcing their votes during the 68th FIFA Congress in Moscow, Russia,

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) asianbookie has confirmed a new qualifying format to expand its direct participation to 48 teams for the 2026 World Cup.

Asian football’s governing body said in a statement on Monday that a four-round qualifying system had been devised in preparation for the expanded World Cup’s eight direct seats and one intercontinental playoff seat allocated to the AFC.

The AFC explains the path to the 2026 FIFA World Cup, bk8 which will take place from June 8 to July 3 in 16 cities in three countries: Canada, Mexico and the United States.

Combined Qualifier Round 1:

The 22 teams ranked 26th to 47th will face off at home and away, with the 11 winners advancing to the second qualifying round.

Preliminary Combined Qualification Round 2:

The 36 teams – ranked from 1 to 25 and the 11 winning teams from the first round – will be divided into nine groups of four teams, each group will play a round-robin match, home and away games, with the top two teams each. The group of 18 will advance to the AFC Asian Qualifiers.

AFC Asian Qualifiers:

Subsequently, the 18 teams that also automatically qualified for the 2027 AFC Asian Cup will be divided into three groups of 6 teams, and will compete in a round-robin, bk8 malaysia home and away format, with the top two teams in each group—6 teams Overall – direct promotion to the tournament.

Asian playoffs:

The final round will feature the third and fourth-placed teams from all groups in the AFC Asian Qualifiers – a total of six teams. The six teams will be divided into two groups of three teams in a single round robin format.

Fixtures & Results

Sun 2nd October

  • PREM Man City 6 3 Man Utd FT
  • PREM Leeds 0 0 A Villa FT

Mon 3rd October

  • PREM Leicester 4 0 N Forest FT

Tue 4th October

  • CHA Bristol C 0 0 19:45 Coventry On Sky
  • CHA Luton 0 0 19:45 Huddsf'ld On Sky
  • SCP Ross Co 0 0 19:45 Motherwell
  • CHA Sheff Utd 0 0 19:45 QPR On Sky
  • CHA S'land 0 0 19:45 Blackpool On Sky
  • CHA Cardiff 0 0 20:00 Blackburn On Sky
  • CL Frankfurt 0 0 20:00 Tottenham
  • CL Liverpool 0 0 20:00 Rangers
  • CHA Reading 0 0 20:00 Norwich On Sky
New Casinos
BK8 Guaranteed 150% Welcome Bonus Up to RM300
BET99 Canada Matching Deposit Bonus Up to $500
BK8 Guaranteed 150% Welcome Bonus Up to RM300
Boda8 150% Welcome Bonus + 20% Cashback
1XBET Guaranteed 100% 1st Deposit Bonus Up to RM500
© Copyright 2022 JACK87 | Powered by: Bhebheko Media